Sunday, May 3, 2009

Running Through the Rain in very Uncomfortable Heels- CW in Houston 4/17/09

This is my review from the CW concert I attended back in April. The best night ever!!!!!!!

You know, the one thing that strikes me the most….Well, I’d ruin it if I were to tell you now. It’s a secret. Okay, okay, so I want to tell you, but I can’t. Not now, anyways. So this past week has been the longest week of my life, yes. When one finally gets front row seats, and her favorite is actually going to be there, it makes a difference. So come Friday morning, I was ecstatic! Although, it hadn’t fully hit me yet that in less than a day I would be sitting in front of CW, enjoying the long awaited concert. It didn’t seem real, yet. Yet. I can tell you that it didn’t seem real until I was actually sitting in my seat. Go figure. *rolls eyes* :D I don’t know how to describe the feeling, though. So you’ve watched the DVDs over and over, watched YouTube videos, and read the wonderful reviews from other members, but it never really crosses your mind that you will be experiencing this wonderful thing these people have created. They’ve created this with their voices, a violin, a band, and all the wonderful people behind the scenes. The most important thing they used, though, is that they’ve created something that was pure, and rich, and wholesome, and the only way you can do that is with your heart. These people have come together, not changed a thing about them, and hit it off instantly. How many people do you know are an overnight success? When you watch these DVDs, you feel like CW is off in some place that you can never reach. That’s wrong! You can reach that place! CW brings that place to you! That’s how I felt! It didn’t seem quite real until I was there. I was in that place. Different people have different ways of describing that feeling, and that’s mine. Okay, enough of my lecture….:D Now on to the good stuff! ;)

Alright, Friday afternoon 6:40 P.M. We drove up to the Toyota Center 20 minutes before the doors opened. Why does it have to be overcast, a chance for thunderstorms, and a tornado watch on the day of the concert? It really stumps me sometimes. Texas weather, stick around for 3 minutes and it’ll change.*rolls eyes* :D Anyways, I’m glad we got there when we did because a line was already starting to form. As we were waiting in line, my dad started piping up all these blond jokes (it’s his way of wasting time and he thinks they’re all just hilariously funny), and I felt bad for the couple behind us. Of course, I was already feeling pretty bad for myself at that point anyway, but… ;) So after about 10 jokes, they start checking bags and letting all of us in. THANK YOU! The Toyota Center is HUGE, by the way! It’s much bigger than Jones Hall, where CW was at last year. We were on the front row, Section A, really close to the middle. I walked in the big…I don’t know what you’d call it, um, it wouldn’t really qualify as an auditorium, frankly because there was a huge black curtain right down the middle of the arena, splitting it in half. You know what? Let’s just call it an auditorium…..and when I saw the stage, I freaked out, not loudly though, and practically ran down to my seat. I was amazed, truly. I kept on telling my brother that it was so unreal, and I bet all he wanted me to do was shut up, but I couldn’t help myself. It was SO pretty! The drums, and by the way, when did they get colored drums? Or have I been missing something all this time? The drapes-haha, is that what you’d call them?:D - were very beautiful, and they had two of Mairead’s shadows reflected very symmetrically on either side. The stage was very tall, I noticed, maybe about 5 feet off the ground. It actually worked very well because the front row was back a little and you didn’t get much of a crick in your neck. So, we were seated in our seats at 7:15ish, and had to wait until the concert started at 8. Meanwhile, I got a very opportune time to meet Texan, and a nice girl he brought along. Coincidentally, we both had front row seats. Two forum members on the front row! Double the trouble! ;D And I know that doesn’t compare to all you forum members who have been to Chicago and Radio City, but for Texas, this is good! So, here comes the announcement! I’m fired up and ready to go! Now, I’m not going to go into describing every song in the order they were performed, mainly because I don’t know the order since all the songs are listed in ABC order on the program. I’m just going to describe the highlights for me.

The Sky, the Dawn, and the Sun started, and I really felt a chill go up my spine. Chloe’s additional part where she’s saying “I am…(Don’t know the lyrics)..I am….” Whhooo! I love it! :D And when all the Girls came out, now I’ve never really had any interaction with them before so it was really a treat for me. Lisa smiled at me! ;D When you Believe, Chloe saw me grinning at her and extended her arm out towards me while she was singing. I could feel my face growing red! I definitely love the front row now! Next, I loved Fields of Gold! I definitely agree with everyone who’s said it’s the new Caledonia! The Coast of Galicia is another great one for Mairead! I love her energy! Isle of Hope, Isle of Tears. Now this one was a tear jerker! But, I absolutely loved it! Mo Ghile Mear. Half of the front row jumped when the drums were hit at the beginning, and I saw the Girls smirking. Now I know why they like that. ;D

INTERMISSION

I had been smiling for most of the first act, and my cheeks did hurt! I kept on rubbing them and anyone who would have saw me must’ve thought I was crazy! :D It was during intermission when I realized that I had forgotten to do the Orinoco Wave. I kicked myself for that! ;D

Now the last half of the show was very emotional for me. A lot of things happened, most of them made me laugh. Chloe kept on making me giggle during Sing Out! because she would look at me and make a face. When Chloe was talking about Oh, America, and she said, “Out of all our five years of touring, Houston always gave us the warmest welcome, and we didn’t think anyone could beat that! You outdid yourselves!” That made me swell up inside, and that’s when I started to tear up. Oh, America in itself was fantastic! And I was already crying anyway, so it really didn’t matter. :D Next, after Mairead played the intro to YRMU, I had looked up and saw her crying! I didn’t know if it was just the song, or something else. I think I remember reading a review that said that the Girls had started tearing up because of their fans, and maybe that was why…..I don’t know….After YRMU, came all the final songs, and I thought the next thing was cute. Lisa had come out to the edge of the stage and staggered a little trying to regain balance. It wasn’t very noticeable, but she made this look like she was saying “Oops.” At some point, I don’t exactly remember where, but Chloe was saying “Thank you” to the audience and, I don’t really know what happened, but my brother must’ve done something, and Chloe turned and looked right at him and said, “And thank you too!!” Everyone laughed and he buried his head in my side. I told him later that I was afraid he broke one of my ribs. :D The last thing that really stuck out to me is probably the thing I will remember forever. Right before they were fixing to head off the stage, Lisa bent down, stuck out her hand, and waved at me. I, (this is a typical “me” reaction), immediately stuck out my hand and waved back. Why is that so memorable? I’m a very shy person, and a silly teenager. Lisa took me, not even knowing who I was, and made me feel special. No one’s ever done that for me before, not like that! Oh, Gosh, I’m going to need a box of tissues before this is over. She made this silly teenager feel like I’ve never really felt before. And I wish she knew…

After the concert, it was pouring cats and dogs! We still had to get out to the truck, and I had my program with me. So, I was thinking, “Great.” :D But, as we were running back to the truck, me in my uncomfortable heals, a thought ran through my mind. I thought how amazing it was that Celtic Woman goes to amazing lengths for their fans. Just like Lisa did for me, even though it wasn’t much. It takes a lot to tour constantly for long periods of time, and give it your best every time you do it. It’s a wonder how they still find time to do blogs, amongst their busy and exhausting schedule. They still manage to do M&Gs even though they’re worn out. They still express the same amount of energy that someone who goes to bed at nine would have. And they all still wonder why their fans go out of their way as much as they do for them.

Guys, we just don’t have any ordinary group on our hands. We’ve got Celtic Woman, and nothing about them is ordinary. They are special, they are unique. They’re the best….

As a closing, I would like to say another special thanks to Lisa. For all she did for me, and the funny thing is, she doesn’t even know it….

Snookie